I’ll Skip Winter This Year, Thanks.

Los Angeles freaks out when it rains. It’s the second day of rain and us Angelenos can’t seem to deal. The traffic is absolutely ridiculous. There are accidents left and right. It’s like people forget how to drive when there is rain. Rainn (quite fitting that that’s his first name!) Wilson’s twitter this morning said it quite nicely: “Dear LA, It’s raining. Don’t drive over 23 MPH UNDER ANY CIRCUMSTANCES. Randomly & frequently apply brakes. Drive in terror. Thx.” Not only do the people of LA have major driving issues when it rains, but it’s a HUGE DEAL to everyone that it is, in fact, raining. Have you checked your Facebook or Twitter lately? Literally, 75% of people’s status updates and tweets are about the rain. Since it’s not a common occurrence for the Angeleno, and it’s one of the first rains of the season, it’s a rule that you MUST tweet and post about it. I’m not going to pretend that I didn’t fulfill my obligatory rain twitter. I did. Yesterday. Something about it being cold, gloomy, and raining out, just like the way I feel. Normally, I like the rain. I get excited to go home, put on my slippers, wrap myself in a blanket, and sit by a fire with a good book and a cup of tea. But this year, I’m not ready to welcome the rainy season. The characteristics of this type of weather are far too similar to my current emotional state-gloomy, cold, and dreary. I’d prefer to skip winter this year. I’d welcome the sun and the heat again in an instant, in hopes that it would bring my spirits up. So this year I will continue to chant “rain, rain go away, come again another day,” until I feel I’m emotionally fit to deal with it.

Hoagie

Here’s a picture of Hoagie this morning, in the car, wrapped in a towel, after his rainy walk. He hates the rain more than anything, and it’s a huge task getting him to do his business when it’s cold and wet out. He looks pretty silly here, kind of like a baby harp seal, don’t you think? I don’t know what I’d do without this little man.

Leave a Reply

