The Halfie

Distractions. Keeping myself busy.  That’s what’s getting me through each day.  The most welcomed distraction thus far has been my half marathon training.  It feels good to wake up in the morning, put on my new (and very pretty) Nike running shoes, and run.  I feel like I’ve accomplished something fairly substantial before the day has really even begun.  Mind you, I’ve only run a few mornings so far, and the most I’ve run for is about four miles.  But still, if you know me, you know that’s a pretty decent accomplishment.   I tend to get into exercise regiments for a few weeks (at most), and then give up.  There was the month I was really into yoga, the month I gymed it every weekday morning, the month I got really into tae bo.  But this will not be a fleeting thing.  Nope.  Not this time.  I’m sticking with it.  I will run this half marathon in December.  It’s a great goal for me to work toward.  It is something I can actually accomplish, and like I said, it’s the perfect distraction.  I can’t think about being sad really, because all I can think about is not dying.  Not collapsing.   Not passing out mid run from utter exhaustion.   Well I guess it’s not that bad but let me tell you, I’m no natural runner.   It is NOT easy for me.  But I think that’s why I like it.  It is an incredible challenge.  I finish the run and I’m sweaty, out of breath, achy, and my face is as red as a lobster.  Yes, I have a minor problem when I overexert myself—I turn abnormally red.   No joke, I have been given the names lobster face and cherry bomb and they are extremely fitting.  Anyway, despite cherry bomb face, achy ankles and knees, it feels great to know that I made it, and finished, and am still standing.   I’m acting as if I’ve already made it to ten miles, when in truth, I’m just at about four.  But hey, baby steps, right?  I have until December, and I’m not giving up (at least I really hope I don’t, because I’ve written this blog post now, yeeeshk!).   I’ll keep you all updated on my progress!

My favorite running music at the moment is the entire Friendly Fires album, (literally every track is upbeat, what more could you ask for?) Check out one of my favorites called “Paris” below.

One response to “The Halfie

  1. One small step for man, one giant step for Brooke! I must say I’m very proud of you for taking the initual steps by coming out to the first day of training, getting new shoes and keeping with your maintenance runs. You’re diligence and commitment alone will get you through your first Half Marathon and you’re gonna be a regular runner in no time. See you Sat for training! I think we’re doing 5 miles :)

Leave a Reply

